|
Here we see Thomas Raven’s 1622 picture-map of The Ironmongers’ Company village at Agivey. This is a fascinating map: if one focuses on the manor house and bawn, one sees a huge variety of what appear to be ad-hoc constructional methods. Looking at the bawn wall itself, it is clear from the illustration that three of its walls were built of brick: the fourth wall, which ran against the River Bann, however, appears to be a palisade of upright timbers stuck together and awkwardly pierced by a small subsidiary house of stone, red-tile roof and brick chimney.
The manor-house itself is almost a bawn in miniature because, on the corners of the rectangular house, stand four round corner turrets. Construction here is also of interest: the illustration makes it clear that the ground floor was built of stone but the second floor was built of brick: quite why this was done is hard to say.
Other usual components of the village are both English timber-framed houses and small Irish cabins and, in the top-left, a church, illustrated very similarly to other picture-maps that Raven shows. In the top-left of the picture, one can see the church shown by Raven in a style similar to other churches that he illustrates - rectangular building with slate roof and a small bell-tower at the end of one gable. The timber-framed houses mostly stand at two-storey with tile roofs in this instance, and brick chimneys, but they are scattered around scarcely reflecting the modern street plan. Small Irish cabins are likewise scattered across the landscape. Very little trace survives of this village today although, of course, there is still an Agivey village.
|