|
Here we see Thomas Raven’s 1622 picture map - the village of The Company of Goldsmiths, two miles from Londonderry, today known as ‘Clondermot’. On the left stands the manor house and bawn: this is a peculiar construction - the manor house appears of be of half-H plan, a main block with two wings, but it stands out very awkwardly from the bawn occupying one corner. One cannot see the far walls of the manor house, but one wonders if they had windows in them, rendering the enclosure much less defensible. The bawn occupied by Mr Truman was clearly under construction at this time because only one of the three flanking towers has a roof on it. Through the middle of the settlement runs a stream and near the top of the picture one can see a water-mill - a rectangular building with a single water-wheel which was powered by the stream.
The village - a small settlement - runs off at right-angles from the gateway to the bawn, mostly occupied by English houses, rectangular, constructed of stone with blue-slate roofs and red chimneys. Irish cabins are also scattered around the settlement and, again, some of these would appear to be under construction as they appear to lack roofs of any substance.
The names of the occupants of the village are, as usual, illustrated under each house.
|