|
Here we see Thomas Raven’s 1622 picture map of The Fishmongers’ Company buildings at Ballykelly. The usual components can be seen: a manor house standing inside a bawn; timber-framed and stone houses; and, in the top left, a church. Unusually, however, this village seems to be quite scattered in its layout: a stream runs through the centre and the houses are laid out in a linear fashion on either side; but if the perspective is anything to go by, they were really quite dispersed.
If one looks at the top right of the illustration, one sees three Irish houses and it’s interesting to compare these with Raven’s illustration of three Irish houses at Moneymore - was this a pictographic shorthand?
The names of the occupants, of course, as often, are named, George Downing being the main occupant of the manor house - a tall, stately and imposing building. Most traces of it are now gone but the Walworth buildings and certainly the bawn walls still survive in a very picturesque location on the outskirts of Ballykelly.
|